Sat. Jul 13th, 2024

Tamworth Kangaroo’s Captain, Matthew Hall, has taken out the 2023 Tony Gilles Medal, after delivering a standout season in the AFL’s North West competition.

The 24-year-old says it has been his best season to date.

“It’s pretty exciting to win this award and I am very happy with the season I have had had,” said Matthew.

“At the start of the year I really challenged myself to play good footy every game and I did a lot of extra stuff in the pre-season and then the backing of the club, the Tamworth Kangaroos are such a supportive club, there is no extra pressure put on you, you just go out there and have fun and everything falls into place.”

“As a midfielder you are always looking to get your hands on the footy and to have the ball in hand as much as possible, more importantly that your delivery to your forwards is on point and not just wasted with the touches you get and I guess to have the fitness to be able to get in that back line and help out and be the in the change for our forwards.”

The midfielder polled 22 votes to take top honours, but there was plenty of talent chasing him on the ladder.

“There are some great players in our comp and there are no surprises to see Noah and Chappel up there,” said Matthew.

“Every game you are always playing against quality opposition so its never an easy game.”

With the Tamworth Kangaroos finishing up fourth on the ladder, their season has now come to and end and as the (hyperlink to story) Tamworth Swan meet Inverell Saints in this weekend’s grand final, Matthew and the team will take a well-earned break before looking at 2024.

“Another month and I’ll start ticking the legs over ready to go for next year and hopefully lead the boys to a premiership,” said Matthew.

Tony Gillies Medal Final Leaderboard:

22Matthew HallTamworth Kangaroos
16Noah ConnickNew England Nomads
12Heyden ChappelInverell
9Adam CurgenvenGunnedah
9Fraser MenziesNew England Nomads
9Cooper TaveriaInverell
8Lachlan Bennetts-InksterTamworth Swans
8Rhyley ThomInverell
6Liam HepworthInverell
6Nicholas LeopardiNew England Nomads
6Ryan SmithGunnedah

Other 2023 Awards Winners

Gerry Griffith Medal: Fraser Menzie (New England Nomads)

Coaches Award: Adam Curgenven (Gunnedah)

Rising Star Award: Cooper Taveira (Inverell)

Women’s 2023 Award Winners

Leading Goal Kicker: Apryl Bailey (Gunnedah)

Coaches Awards: Sophie Ranken (Tamworth Swans)

BEST & Fairest: Sophie Ranken (Tamworth Swans)

Rising Star: Lauren Appleby (Tamworth Kangaroos)

Like what you’re reading? Support The New England Times by making a small donation today and help us keep delivering local news paywall-free. Donate now